Welder Certification

Welder certification

  ATC Certification Scheme for Welding Personnel ATC is proud to introduce its Certification Scheme for Welding Personnel, designed to assess and certify individuals demonstrating expertise in welding processes. Committed to upholding international standards of objectivity and impartiality, ATC ensures that all accreditation and certification activities comply with ISO/IEC 17024:2012 guidelines.   certification of the welder

Certification Categories:

The ATC welder certification scheme is designed to thoroughly assess candidates’ proficiency in executing high-quality welds across a range of fusion welding processes. These processes are critical in ensuring the integrity and durability of welded structures in various industries. The certification categories include:

1. ISO 9606-1 & 2:

These standards focus on the qualification of welders for specific welding processes, materials, and positions. ISO 9606-1 covers fusion welding of steels, while ISO 9606-2 extends to aluminum and aluminum alloys. Candidates undergoing certification under ISO 9606 demonstrate their ability to perform welds according to stringent international criteria, showcasing their competence in welding diverse materials to industry standards.

2. ISO 14732:

ISO 14732 pertains to the qualification of welding operators and welders for welding procedures. This standard emphasizes the importance of not only the welder’s skills but also the adherence to established welding procedures to ensure consistent and reliable weld quality. Certification under ISO 14732 signifies a welder’s capability to follow prescribed procedures effectively and maintain welding quality standards.

3. AWS D1.1:

The American Welding Society (AWS) D1.1 standard is specific to structural welding of steel. Certification under AWS D1.1 is highly regarded in industries where structural integrity is paramount, such as construction, fabrication, and infrastructure development. Welders certified under AWS D1.1 demonstrate their expertise in welding structural components to meet rigorous safety and performance requirements.

4. API 1104:

API 1104 certification is essential for welders involved in welding pipelines and related infrastructure in the oil and gas industry. This standard covers welding procedures, qualifications, and inspection requirements for welding pipelines made of materials like carbon steel, stainless steel, and alloys. Welders certified under API 1104 showcase their ability to meet industry-specific demands for pipeline construction and maintenance.


ASME IX certification is crucial for welders working with pressure vessels, boilers, and piping systems in industries such as manufacturing, power generation, and petrochemicals. ASME IX outlines stringent requirements for welding procedures, qualifications, and performance qualifications. Welders certified under ASME IX demonstrate their proficiency in welding critical components to ASME standards, ensuring safety and compliance with regulatory requirements. Each certification category within the ATC welder certification scheme represents a rigorous assessment of the candidate’s skills, knowledge, and ability to perform welding tasks according to internationally recognized standards. These certifications not only validate the welder’s capabilities but also instill confidence in employers and stakeholders regarding the quality and reliability of welded products and structures.  

Trustable Partner for Sustainable Future